[PATCH 4.19.y 59/60] arm64: dts: Remove inconsistent use of 'arm, armv8' compatible string


Fabrizio Castro <fabrizio.castro@...>
 

From: Rob Herring <robh@...>

commit 31af04cd60d3162a58213363fd740a2b0cf0a08e upstream.

The 'arm,armv8' compatible string is only for software models. It adds
little value otherwise and is inconsistently used as a fallback on some
platforms. Remove it from those platforms.

This fixes warnings generated by the DT schema.

Reported-by: Michal Simek <michal.simek@...>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@...>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@...>
Acked-by: Antoine Tenart <antoine.tenart@...>
Acked-by: Nishanth Menon <nm@...>
Acked-by: Maxime Ripard <maxime.ripard@...>
Acked-by: Manivannan Sadhasivam <manivannan.sadhasivam@...>
Acked-by: Chanho Min <chanho.min@...>
Acked-by: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@...>
Acked-by: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...>
Acked-by: Gregory CLEMENT <gregory.clement@...>
Acked-by: Thierry Reding <treding@...>
Acked-by: Heiko Stuebner <heiko@...>
Acked-by: Simon Horman <horms+renesas@...>
Acked-by: Tero Kristo <t-kristo@...>
Acked-by: Wei Xu <xuwei5@...>
Acked-by: Liviu Dudau <liviu.dudau@...>
Acked-by: Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...>
Acked-by: Michal Simek <michal.simek@...>
Acked-by: Scott Branden <scott.branden@...>
Acked-by: Kevin Hilman <khilman@...>
Acked-by: Chunyan Zhang <zhang.lyra@...>
Acked-by: Robert Richter <rrichter@...>
Acked-by: Jisheng Zhang <Jisheng.Zhang@...>
Acked-by: Dinh Nguyen <dinguyen@...>
Signed-off-by: Rob Herring <robh@...>
Signed-off-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...>
[fab: dropped changes not related to r8a774a1.dtsi]
Signed-off-by: Fabrizio Castro <fabrizio.castro@...>
---
arch/arm64/boot/dts/renesas/r8a774a1.dtsi | 12 ++++++------
1 file changed, 6 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/boot/dts/renesas/r8a774a1.dtsi b/arch/arm64/boot/dts/renesas/r8a774a1.dtsi
index 1969649..a77de9e 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/boot/dts/renesas/r8a774a1.dtsi
+++ b/arch/arm64/boot/dts/renesas/r8a774a1.dtsi
@@ -61,7 +61,7 @@
#size-cells = <0>;

a57_0: cpu@0 {
- compatible = "arm,cortex-a57", "arm,armv8";
+ compatible = "arm,cortex-a57";
reg = <0x0>;
device_type = "cpu";
power-domains = <&sysc R8A774A1_PD_CA57_CPU0>;
@@ -71,7 +71,7 @@
};

a57_1: cpu@1 {
- compatible = "arm,cortex-a57", "arm,armv8";
+ compatible = "arm,cortex-a57";
reg = <0x1>;
device_type = "cpu";
power-domains = <&sysc R8A774A1_PD_CA57_CPU1>;
@@ -81,7 +81,7 @@
};

a53_0: cpu@100 {
- compatible = "arm,cortex-a53", "arm,armv8";
+ compatible = "arm,cortex-a53";
reg = <0x100>;
device_type = "cpu";
power-domains = <&sysc R8A774A1_PD_CA53_CPU0>;
@@ -91,7 +91,7 @@
};

a53_1: cpu@101 {
- compatible = "arm,cortex-a53", "arm,armv8";
+ compatible = "arm,cortex-a53";
reg = <0x101>;
device_type = "cpu";
power-domains = <&sysc R8A774A1_PD_CA53_CPU1>;
@@ -101,7 +101,7 @@
};

a53_2: cpu@102 {
- compatible = "arm,cortex-a53", "arm,armv8";
+ compatible = "arm,cortex-a53";
reg = <0x102>;
device_type = "cpu";
power-domains = <&sysc R8A774A1_PD_CA53_CPU2>;
@@ -111,7 +111,7 @@
};

a53_3: cpu@103 {
- compatible = "arm,cortex-a53", "arm,armv8";
+ compatible = "arm,cortex-a53";
reg = <0x103>;
device_type = "cpu";
power-domains = <&sysc R8A774A1_PD_CA53_CPU3>;
--
2.7.4

Join cip-dev@lists.cip-project.org to automatically receive all group messages.